Understanding diode_1d.py current densities

Hello,

I would like to start by thanking the contributors of this great project.

I have been studying the documentation, and one thing struck me when I discovered the diode_1d.py example. So the results look like this:

What I don’t understand is how can the electron current (hole current) be so high in the P region (N region)? Aren’t all electrons supposed to eventually recombine one they cross the depletion zone?
In most textbooks I studied, the current densites of minority carriers in the regions tend to 0 as we depart from the depletion zone. Am I missing something here?

Thank you for your help with this very basic question,

Lionel

If the diode is short, then there is not enough distance for all of the minority carriers to recombine. In this particular example, most of the recombination is occurring in the space charge region.

So the recombination is then happening in the contact. TCAD simulators report the electron and hole current at the contact. In an actual device with real contacts, there would only be the electrons coming out of the contact.

You can try the TCAD app and experiment with the parameters for the 1D diode example.

https://tcad.app/

Hello Juan,

Thank you so much for your response. I took some time to think about what you told me.
However, I’m still trying to figure it out.

In the example I posted, the diode isn’t “short/small” right? So most of the recombination is happening in the depletion zone, and the contacts are “far” from that zone. Then I don’t understand for example why electron current is so high at x=2e-6.

How can I relate to the following situation I find in textbooks?

The electron current exponentially decays to 0 in the P region.

Thank you again

The minority current is unlikely to go to zero in each region. The currents you see may change orders of magnitude, by changing the parameters.

The recombination relies on these parameters:

• taun
  • taup
  • n1