Basic questions from a new user - based on 1D capacitor

Hi Juan, hi all!

I have recently started to look into ways of simulating electronic properties of semiconductor structures I am dealing with in my research (I have very little experience in this regard, was so far primarily using optically pumped, “non-electric” samples) and I came across DEVSIM.

First of all - thanks for the opportunity to use the software! It looks very promising and I am eager to try it!

I have a question regarding the 1D capacitor example:

The result for the 1D capacitor example is a charge of ~3.45x10^(-13) from the simulation. The manual gives as a unit F/(cm²). I was wondering about this unit. I tried to estimate the result (as expected) from a simple plate capacitor:

Q = C*U
Q = epsiolon_r * epsilon_0 * A / d * U
Q/A = epsiolon_r * epsilon_0 / d * U

epsilon_r being the relative permittivity (3.9 for SiO2 in the example)
epsilon_0 being the vacuum permittivity (~8.85x10^(-12) As/(V*m) or 8.85x10^(-14) As/(Vcm) as used in the example)
A being the area of the capacitor plates
U being the Bias voltage (1 V in the example)
d being the distance between the plates (1 m if I understand the mesh creation according to the manual correctly, meaning 100 cm)

Using the above values I get a result of
Q/A = 3.45x10^(-11) As/(Vm²) = 3.45*10^(-11) F/m² = 3.45x10^(-15) F/cm²
I would also get this value if I set the position to 100 (cm) and leave the vacuum permittivity at 8.85x10^(-14) As/(Vcm).

Did I overlook something, or is the answer given in the manual incorrect, and should rather be 3.45x10^(-11) F/m² = 3.45x10^(-15) F/cm²?
Or am I making a mistake, because the distance simulated is not 1 m, but actually 1 cm?

I would also be interested what the “spacing” as a parameter in the add_1d_mesh_line() command is?
Does it mean a 0.1(unit?) extension of the contact? Or is it a parameter for the mesh?